I listened to an interesting podcast that was talking about how if you want to be a creative writer, you must also be a creative reader. According to the podcast, here is how (and it is not word for word, because in that case I would have to include the name of the podcast and I really don’t feel like looking it up right now):

1. Go to a library.

2. Go into a section that you haven’t been to before. If there aren’t any, then go to one that you don’t very often. Maybe a new genre or subject. Poetry would work too. But no nonfiction; it has to be some form of creative writing.

3. Find two books with titles that you find interesting, and take them. No judging by the blurb on the back or the color. Just the title.

4. Read through them as fast as you can, even if it’s boring or difficult. Make notes on things that you continue to find interesting.

5. Combine the things from the two books that you found interesting and write a story from them.

6. Do it again.

7. And again.

I must say I ‘ve never tried this. I am going to need to work on being a creative reader